Horchata

20130421_211656

Horchata reminds me of when I lived in Denver, CO.  My friends took me to a little “hole in the wall” Mexican place and that is where I tried it for the very first time.  I was not quite sure about getting it at first, but they convinced me to get it and I loved it.

Since then, I have only found ones that I like at a few places.  I never thought about actually making my own horchata, as I figured it would be a difficult process to do.  My boyfriend recently decided that he really wanted it, so we figured that we would give making it a shot.

This was actually really easy to do and to make.  It also is very inexpensive and involves many items that most already have sitting around the house.  Anyone can make this, you just need the ingredient, a blender and a little time.

If you are making this for an event, you will want to prepare ahead of time, as it does need to sit in the refrigerator for at least 2 hours.  I left mine in there for almost 2 days (this increased the cinnamon flavor, but is not necessary).

Ingredients:

1 cup uncooked white rice

3 fresh cinnamon sticks (more if you would like a garnish)

8 1/2 cups filtered or bottled water (filtering it is not necessary, but gives it a better flavor)

1/2 to 1 cup sugar

2 teaspoons vanilla

Directions:

1. Rinse the rice.  Place in a bowl or large measuring cup with 2 cups of the water and the cinnamon sticks and cover.  Place in refrigerator and allow to sit for at least 2 hours.

2. Place the rice mixer in a blend and blend for 4 minuets or until well mixed.  Strain through a fine strainer to remove any chunks.

3. Return back to the blender and add the remaining water, vanilla and 1/2 cup of sugar.  Blend until mixed together.  Taste and see if more sugar is needed.  Add until it is as sweet as you would like it.

4. Keep in the refrigerator and serve over ice.  Garnish with a cinnamon stick if you would like.

Leave a comment below and let me know how it went for you!

Leave a Reply

