Smoked Salmon

20130414_224352

I was a picky child when it came to eat.  I did not like fish at all.  It took until I was 20 years old before I liked to eat any kind of fish.  I even worked at a sushi bar in Denver, Colorado and still had trouble eating some of the items they gave me.  Although I did have some issues eating fish there, I think that is when I started to accept fish.

They had me try all kinds of things.  I tried anything from a simple California roll to octopus face.  Some of those were more pleasant than others.  Then I can back to Reno and met my boyfriend.  This is where I started to try more and more fish items.

He introduce me to salmon cooked on the grill with a sauce that his dad always put on it.  It was really good.  From there, I started to eat other kinds of fish, sushi, shrimp, lobster and crab.  My eye have been opened to how good fish can really be and I am open to trying more items.

For the first time, we decided to shy away from his dads recipe and try something new.  We decided to do smoked salmon that had been in a brine for twenty-four hours. I have a smoker to do this in, but you can also do it on the grill with ceder planks. It was very different from what we are used to, but still have a great flavor.

Ingredient:

2 cups water

1/2 cup brown sugar

2 tablespoons soy sauce

1 tablespoon kosher salt

1/2 cup maple syrup

4 garlic cloves

1 pound salmon

Directions:

1. Mix the sugar into the water until dissolved.  Once dissolved, add the soy sauce, salt, maple syrup, and garlic cloves.  Whisk well.

2. Place the salmon in a baking dish (make sure that it is not too big, you want the salmon to just fit).  Pour the brine over the fish.  Cover and let sit in the fridge for about 24 hours.

3. Place on the smoker for 3-4 hours.

4. Serve and enjoy.

Please leave a comment and let me know what foods you used to hate when you were younger, but you like now.

Leave a Reply

