Quick and Easy Chili

20130409_200651

Chili is one of my favorite dishes.  It reminds me of when I was little and my mom would make it on a cold day.  I used to be a picky eater and I did not like a lot of thing to go into my food.  With chili, I did not like to have chunks of tomato or onions in it.  So my mom would cater to me and take some of it out before adding in the tomato and she would just cut the onion and put it on the side for them to add in if they wanted it.  Now I am not as picky, but I still do leave the tomato out and I still do not eat it with onion, as it is how I always remember eating it.

There are so many different things that you can add on top of chili when eating it.  I have seen people do sour cream, salsa, corn chips, corn bread, cheese and onion.  I have never tried it with sour cream or salsa, but I do love to add cheese to mine.

One great thing about chili, is that it can be made to fit to what anyone likes.  I know one person that does not do chili with beans.  Then you can make it spicy or keep it mild.  There are also so many things you can add into it and change it up every time.  Here is the simple recipe that I always grew up on.

Serving Size: 2-3 people

Ingredients:

1/2 pound ground beef

1 can ranch style beans

1 can tomato sauce

1/2 packet of chili seasoning (I use McCormick)

cheese as needed

1-2 Tablespoons onion, diced (optional)

Directions:

1. Brown the ground beef in a sauce pan.  Drain the grease out.

2. Add in the beans, tomato sauce, and the chili packet.  (If it is not hot enough for you, add a little cayenne pepper)

3. Turn to simmer and allow to cook for at least 10 minuets.  Stir occasionally.

4. Serve in a bowl and top with cheese and onion.

Leave a comment and let me know how you like to eat your chili.

Leave a Reply

