Fruit Smoothies

20130407_073824

Smoothies have been one of my favorite drinks for as long as I can remember.  The biggest thing that they remind me of is when I would have sleepovers with my cousins in the summer.  They would come stay over for many days at a time.  Each morning we would get up, play music, make french toast and a smoothie.  This became a ritual for at least one of the mornings that they would be over.

Now, I use smoothies as a healthier alternative for breakfast or just as a pick me up snack.  I will also substitute a smoothie for a dessert if I really am craving something sweet.  They can be drank anytime of the day.

Smoothies are one of the simplest things that can be made at any time.  The best thing about them is that you can add anything that you want to them.  You can make them super sweet, sour, a little bit savory and the list goes on.  I normally make them with whatever fruit that I have on hand and add some spinach to them.  I have also added flax seed and agave nectar.   The agave nectar helps give it a hint of sweetness (this is especially good when the fruit is not in season) and the flax seed is good to get your omega 3 vitamins.  I suggest that you use the flax seed if you do not eat a lot of fish.

Here is one of many ways that you can make a smoothie.

Serving size: 2-4

Ingredients: 

1 cup almond milk

1 cup strawberries (about 6 large ones)

1 large banana

1/2 container of blackberries

handful spinach

1 tablespoon flax seed

1/2 to 1 cup ice

Directions:

1. Combine everything in a blender (I use a vita mix).

2. Blend on medium to medium high until well mixed.  Add more ice as needed.

3. Serve and enjoy!

Leave me a comment and let me know what kinds of fruits or vegetables you like in your smoothies.

Leave a Reply

