Easy pasta with peppers

20130403_193430

It is time to put the hardy and comforting food away now that spring is finally here.  For me, I think of light and refreshing foods during spring and summer time.  I want to have a dish that will fill me up, but not weigh me down.  Now I know that pasta is normally a heavier meal, but I have found a way to make it light and tasty.  And now that there are more choices for spring vegetables, you can lighten up any type of pasta dish or even an every day meal.

If you are like me you do not want a heavy meal after working out.  For me this is a difficult task to accomplish since I work out later in the day and by the time I am done, I need to be starting on getting dinner ready.  I have found a really light and refreshing pasta dish that is quick and easy to make.  This dish can be varied in so many different ways, you just have to use your imagination.  And with just five ingredient, it is easy on the wallet.

Serving 2-3

Ingredients:

2-3 sweet Italian sausages

1-3 bell peppers (I like to do a mixture of red, orange, and yellow)

9 oz fettuccine or spaghetti noodles

2-3 tablespoons pine nuts

1 teaspoon olive oil

Directions:

1. In a large pot, bring some water to a boil.  Add the noodles and cook until they are al dente. Drain.  Toss with the olive oil.

2. While the pasta is cooking, cook the sausage until cooked all the way through.  Once they are cooked, cut into bite size pieces.

3. Chop the bell peppers into bite size pieces and set aside.

4.  When the pasta is almost done, you are going to toast the pine nuts in a small skillet on medium low heat.  This will release the flavors.

5. Toss everything together and serve.

You can change this dish up by adding different vegetables or try using chicken instead of sausage.  I would try this with squashes, tomatoes, spinach, or any other fresh vegetable that you like.  You can also add a little freshly grated Parmesan cheese if you want to add a salty flavor.  Spice it up any way you like.

And if you are feeling like you want a little treat with this, try making some garlic bread to serve along side with it.

Leave a comment below and let me know what you would add to this dish.

Leave a Reply

