Chicken Chow Mein

20130328_205228

When I think of Chinese food, I think of the summers when I worked with the Nevada National Guard.  My dad would always take me and some of his soldiers out to different Chinese food places.  Our favorite Chinese food place to go for lunches was Beijing Palace.  They would accommodate a large group and were so grateful for all of the soldiers.  It was a good time for everyone and was always funny watching people try new things.  At Beijing Palace, they have a lunch deal where you would get one entree, fried or steamed rice, chow mein and soup.  For me, I love chow mein, but it is normally greasy.  This is where my recipe comes into play.

The recipe that I have put together, is a combination of many recipes that I found.  I wanted to avoid the ones that add a lot of oil, since that is the part that I do not like about getting chow mein out at a restaurant.  So, with taking ideas from other things people have posted, I came up with a non-greasy and light chicken chow mein that many people will like.  With this, you can take out the things that you do not like and you can add in the things that you do enjoy.  The one thing that I suggest you not taking out is the onion. I hate onions, but it adds a flavor that you cannot get from anything else.  So I leave it in for cooking and just pick them out while eating.

Serving size: 4-6 people

Ingredients:

2-3 chicken breast, diced

2 1/2 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil

1/4 cup soy sauce (use gluten free soy if needed)

1 tablespoon brown sugar

3 cloves garlic, minced

1 teaspoon fresh ginger, grated

black pepper to taste

3 packages Yaki Soba noodles

3-4 sticks of celery, thinly sliced

1/2 medium onion

2 cups chopped cabbage

Instructions:

1. In a small bowl combine the soy sauce, brown sugar, garlic, ginger and black pepper.  Set aside.

2. Remove the Yaki Soba noodle, give them a rinse and set aside.  Discard the flavoring packets.

3. Heat 1 tablespoon of oil in a large skillet on medium high heat.  Add the chicken and cook until there is not pink left.  Once cooked, remove from skillet and set aside.

4. Heat the remaining oil in the same skillet.  Add the celery and onion.  Saute fro about 1-2 minuet or until the onions start to become soft.  Add the cabbage and saute for an additional minuet.

5. Toss the noodles, soy sauce mixture and chicken with the vegetables.  Heat for 2-3 minuets or until everything is heated all the way through.

6. Serve and enjoy!

Leave a comment below and let me know what your favorite kind of Chinese food is.

Leave a Reply

